Active holidays in Portugal

A nature paradise for hikers and cyclists

Portugal in the south-west of the Iberian Peninsula is divided into a less touristy, green and somewhat rough north and a Mediterranean south, the Algarve, famous for its beaches covered with cork oaks and olive trees.

Our active trips in Portugal

Aloe Vera in front of beach and sea

Paradise for hikers and bikers

Its beautiful coastline and varied hinterland make Portugal an ideal hiking destination. The beaches of the Algarve and the only official national park in the country, the Peneda Gerês with its healing spring water, the natural pools of waterfalls suitable for swimming and its freshwater lakes are popular hiking destinations. The lakes of the national park are also popular with water sports enthusiasts for sailing and kayaking.

Cyclists also get their money's worth in Portugal. On the coast you can cycle with a sea breeze on your face and a view of the Atlantic Ocean. On the other hand, tours on the two long-distance cycle paths lead to the green heart of the country, where you can still experience the completely original Portugal, for example in the Coimbra region. Mountain bikers get their money's worth in the Algarve with its coasts and hills, as there are playful, fun endless trails here.

Castle with trees

Charming capital city

The port city Porto is a pearl in Portugal, which unjustly stands somewhat in the shadow of the capital Lisbon that lies further south in the country and is popular with tourists. Porto lies at the mouth of the Duoro to the Atlantic Ocean. A charming promenade with pretty cafés, fascinating old and new bridges, historic quarters and modern architecture and a quarter with large port wine factories offer visitors a lot of variety.

View to sea and mountain

Island with a wide variety of flowers

Those looking for spring in winter will find warmth, sunshine and endless possibilities for outdoor activities on the flower island of Madeira. The majestic mountain world is perfect for hiking up to the archaic peaks, but also along the Levadas, the almost horizontal irrigation channels leading along the edge of the slope, which are wonderful for walking. Bikers prefer the infinitely long, flowing trails down to the sea. The shuttle is mostly responsible for the ascent on the island with the steep, long mountain slopes. A bicycle tour around the island becomes a real pleasure with its help.

The charming capital Funchal is worth seeing and good for surprises. Not only is an emperor buried here without a heart - the heart of Emperor Charles I, who lived in exile in Madeira, is kept in the Habsburg family tomb in Switzerland - you can also glide down in an exciting basket sled from the Monte villa quarter to the city centre here.

Marco Caracuta
Do you dream of an active holiday in Portugal? We advise you.
Marco Caracuta, Eurotrek AG
Book now

The most beautiful active holidays in Portugal

Medium
Portugal

Cycling holidays Algarve

8 Days | Self-guided tour
(13)
Easy
Portugal

Wanderferien Wunderwelt Azoren

8 Days | Self-guided tour
Hard
Portugal

Veloferien Madeira Rundfahrt

8 Days | Self-guided tour
(4)

Vacances actives au Portugal

Un paradis naturel pour les randonneurs et les cyclistes

Le Portugal, situé dans la partie sud-ouest de la péninsule Ibérique, se divise en une région Nord, un peu rugueuse, verte et moins touristique et une partie Sud méditerranéenne, connue pour ses plages, ses chênes-lièges et ses oliviers.

Nos voyages actifs au Portugal

Aloe Vera vor Strand und Meer

Paradis pour les randonneurs pédestres et les bikers

Avec ses côtes de rêve et son arrière-pays très varié, le Portugal est une destination de randonnées idéale. Très appréciées : les randonnées le long de la Côte atlantique sauvage dans l’Alentejo et des plages de l’Algarve ainsi que dans le seul parc national officiel du pays, la Peneda Gerês, avec son eau de source curative, les piscines naturelles permettant de se baigner formées par les chutes d’eau et ses lacs d’eau douce. Les lacs du parc national sont extrêmement appréciés pour faire de la voile et des tours en kayak.

Mais les cyclistes ne sont pas oubliés non plus au Portugal.  Le long de la côte, on pédale nez chatouillé par la brise de la mer et yeux tournés vers l’Atlantique. Par contre, les tours sur les deux chemins de grande randonnée cycliste conduisent au cœur du pays, là où on peut encore découvrir un Portugal encore naturel par exemple dans la région de Coimbra. Dans l’Algarve avec ses côtés et ses collines, les vététistes en auront pour leur argent, car ici il existe des trails amusants et bizarres à l’infini.

Burg mit Bäumen

Charmante capitale

Une perle au Portugal est la ville portuaire de Porto qui, injustement, est un peu à l’ombre de la capitale Lisbonne, appréciée des touristes un peu plus au sud.  Porto se situe à l’embouchure du Douro qui se jette dans l’Atlantique. Une charmante promenade avec de jolis cafés, des ponts anciens et nouveaux fascinants, des quartiers historiques et une architecture moderne et un quartier regroupant tous les grands portos, offrent aux visiteurs beaucoup de possibilités.

Blick auf Meer und Berg

L’île aux fleurs, une île diversifiée

Celui qui recherche le printemps en hiver, trouvera sur l’île aux fleurs de Madère, chaleur, soleil et un nombre infini de possibilités pour des activités outdoor. Le monde majestueux des montagnes est une région de randonnée parfaite jusqu’aux sommets archaïques, mais on peut aussi marcher le long des levadas, les canaux d’irrigation passant presque horizontalement le long du versant. Les vététistes préfèrent les trails infinis coulant jusqu’en bas, vers la mer. La plupart du temps, la navette assure la montée lorsque les pentes sont abruptes et longues.  Grâce à cela, une randonnée cycliste autour de l’île devient un vrai plaisir.

À ne pas manquer, Funchal, charmante capitale, a toujours une surprise à proposer. Non seulement qu’ici un empereur est enterré sans cœur – le cœur de l’empereur Charles Ier qui vivait en exil à Madère, est conservé dans  le caveau familial des Habsbourg en Suisse – ici, on peut se laisser glisser dans un trajet intéressant grâce au toboggan qui relie le quartier des villas de Monte à la ville.

Marco Caracuta
Vous rêvez de vacances actives au Portugal? Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous conseiller.
Marco Caracuta, Eurotrek AG

Les plus beaux voyages actifs du Portugal